1986. Bill Cosby presenta con su cachondeo habitual un dueto curioso: el maestro inimitable Stevie Wonder y el todavía no muy perjudicado Boy George en la fantástica Part time lover. A ver quién era el guapo que seguía el chorro de voz de Mr. Wonder. Boy George hace lo que puede (y baila como puede, me imagino que en el escenario se acordaría de la madre del diseñador de su modelico) y al final con la ayuda de un coro entusiasta logran clavarla.

Call up, ring once, hang up the phone Llama, un toque, cuelga
to let me know you made it home para hacerme saber que has llegado a casa
don’t want nothing to be wrong with part-time lover No quiero que nada salga mal con el amante a tiempo parcial
If she’s with me i’ll blink the lights Si ella está conmigo encenderé y apagaré las luces
to let you know tonight’s the night para hacerte saber que esta noche es la noche
for me and you my part-time lover para ti y para mí mi amante a tiempo parcial
We are undercover passion on the run Somos pasión clandestina a la fuga
chasing love up against the sun siguiendo al amor contra el sol
we are strangers by day, lovers by night somos extraños de día, amantes de noche
knowing it’s so wrong, but feeling so right sabiendo que está mal, pero sintiéndonos tan bien
If i’m with friends and we should meet Si estoy con amigos y nos encontráramos
just pass me by, don’t even speak pasa de largo, ni siquiera hables
know the word “discreet” when part-time lovers  conozco la palabra discreto para los amantes a tiempo parcial
But if there’s some emergency Pero si hay alguna emergencia
have a male friend to ask for me tengo un amigo para preguntarle por mí
so then she won’t peek its really you my part-time lover así ella no echará una mirada eres realmente tú mi amante a tiempo parcial
We are undercover passion on the run Somos pasión clandestina a la fuga
chasing love up against the sun siguiendo al amor contra el sol
we are strangers by day, lovers by night somos extraños de día, amantes de noche
knowing it’s so wrong, but feeling so right sabiendo que está mal, pero sintiéndonos tan bien

I’ve got something that i must tell Tengo algo que debo decir
last night someone rang our doorbell ayer por la noche alguien llamó a nuestro timbre
and it was not you my part-time lover y no eras tú mi amante a tiempo parcial
And then a man called our exchange Y entonces un hombre llamó a nuestra centralita
but didn’t want to leave his name pero no quiso dejar su nombre
i guess that two can play the game imagino que dos pueden jugar al juego
of part-time lovers de los amantes a tiempo parcial
you and me, part-time lovers tú y yo, amantes a tiempo parcial
but, she and he, part-time lovers pero, ella y él, amantes a tiempo parcial

»

  1. Lisset dice:

    Part-time lovers is always easier, far more exciting and seductive than full-time lovers. 🙂

  2. nosomosgurus dice:

    I beg to differ with your opinion 🙂

    The target is achieving a impossible matter: a full time lover as wonderful as a part-time one. I think is a good aim in life 🙂

  3. Lisset dice:

    You are just a dreamer 🙂 There’s no way you can always be perfect when it comes to deal with reality 24/7/365 🙂 A part-time lover is always away when the things get tough, so he’s always in a good mood for romance but he’s not there when the microwave is out of order 🙂

    It’s a good aim in life, but not a realistic one 🙂

  4. nosomosgurus dice:

    “You are just a dreamer” is one of my favourite sentences…maybe because some of my friends always tell me it 🙂

    Nobody loves perfection (at least that´s my opinion) more so when you think about humankind condition (covered with stains and imperfection all over it)

    Part-time ones usually would tell you “When enough is enough, you have to get tough!” But maybe some of them could become a full-time and imperfect lovers 🙂

    I love impossible aims.With that kind of goals, life is better each second (you only have to think about it…sometimes dreaming is a good remedy)

    It´s not the almost impossible finishing line.It´s the route 🙂

Responder

